Sunday, July 21, 2024

Yukon Permanent Art Collection welcomes 14 new diverse works of art

- Advertisement -

14 brand-new pieces of art have been selected for inclusion in the Yukon Permanent Art Collection by the government of Yukon.

- Advertisement -

Shiela Alexandrovich, Hildur Jónasson, Sarah Lennie, Meshell Melvin, Rebekah Miller, Aubyn O’Grady, Jackie Olson, Cohen Quash, Rosemary Scanlon, Veronica Verkley, Sharon Vittrekwa, Meg Walker, and Twyla Wheeler are among the artists whose works have been added to the collection. Painting, sculpture, textiles, printmaking, and fine craft are just a few of the many artistic styles and approaches represented in the selected works.

The Friends of Yukon Permanent Art Collection (FOYPAC) and the Yukon government held an annual call for submissions to select the works. From the 102 works submitted by 49 artists, selections were made. contains images of all 14 works. In the fall, an official exhibition is planned for the Jim Smith Building’s foyer gallery in Whitehorse.

- Advertisement -

Stay in Touch

Subscribe to us if you would like to read weekly articles on the joys, sorrows, successes, thoughts, art and literature of the Ethnocultural and Indigenous community living in Canada.

Related Articles